insidersraka.blogg.se

Running a sql server for mac
Running a sql server for mac





running a sql server for mac

running a sql server for mac

If you scroll further down the page, you can browse the full is list of available tags that can be used to download an image.įor my purposes, using the latest and greatest for testing and validating things is perfect so I’m only interested in the “2019-latest” container image. The Feature Tags shown below show some often used images. Searching for SQL Server images, we can see that Microsoft has their own registry that has a few available container images. I got my image from Docker Hub, a library of container images that you can browse and subsequently download if needed. Once you have it installed, you’ll have a dashboard like the one shown below.Īt this point, we don’t have any containers running so we need to first get a container image and then create a container. The images are what define the container which then in turn runs the application, which in our case is SQL Server. This is what will allow you to run container images.

RUNNING A SQL SERVER FOR MAC INSTALL

Go out to, download, and install the Docker Desktop application. Let’s look to see how easy it is to setup Docker.

running a sql server for mac

Docker, however, it a great solution to allow me to run SQL Server containers on my Macbook without having to set up anything. Yes, I could install SQL Server on the OS but it’s my personal machine and I’m not that familiar with SQL on Linux (yet). When I shift working locations I work on my Macbook, and I still need access to a SQL Server instance. Of course, these days I’m maintaining social distancing so getting away from my desk to work elsewhere means working from my kitchen table for a change of scenery. It’s small footprint and ease of use allows me to easily shift working locations if needed. However, my backup machine, is an Apple MacBook Pro. It remains docked at my desk where it happily helps me to go about my daily business. My day to day work machine is a Windows 10 HP laptop.







Running a sql server for mac